Alcohol and Drug Testing

Requirements

Missouri Department of Transportation Periodic Inspection
Motor Carrier Services Aggregrate Gross Weight

HM Safety Permits
a e For-Hire Carriers
Fire Extinguisher

|
Exhaust Systems
Compliance
Cargo Securement
a n u a 15-Hour Rule

TS e e RS

February 2016



MoDOT Motor Carrier Services Online

Use MoDOT Carrier Express to:
= Renew and update registration and license plates,
= File fuel tax returns,
= Request oversize/overweight permits,
= Register and renew intrastate authority,
s File Unified Carrier Registration
...and much more!

Visit www.modot.org/mce for 24-hour access

MoDOT Motor Carrier Services offers training in:
= General safety regulations,

» Hazardous materials regulations and HM security plan training,
= Passenger vehicle regulations,

= Agricultural hauling regulations and

= Credentials, registration and annual renewals

Register for courses at www.modot.org/training _outreach.htm
or call toll-free, 1-866-831-6277, option 6
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Welcome!

Thank you for picking up a copy of Missouri’s Commercial Motor Carrier Compli-
ance Manual. Whether you’re new to the motor carrier industry or a long-time safe
operator, I'm sure you’ll learn something new from these pages.

Compliance Safety Accountability

Though most of the regulations in this manual haven’t changed, CSA changes the
way overall interstate motor carrier safety is assessed. As of July 2010, all violations
and warnings are figured into an interstate motor carrier’s safety score — even if the
violation doesn’t result in a ticket, an out-of service order or points against a driver’s
CDL. The more serious the offense, the more weight it brings to bear on the com-
pany’s score. All clean inspections count to the good.

Carriers and drivers can use the scores to better identify high-risk carrier and driver
behaviors and correct them. MoDOT wants to work with drivers and companies
before high-risk behaviors become bad safety habits. That is expected to reduce the
number of commercial motor vehicle crashes, fatalities and injuries.

CSA is an adjustment, but carriers tell me they like what they’ve seen. They espe-
cially appreciate the early contact and safety assistance.

Safety is Primary - so is the seatbelt law for CMVs

No matter how many accident-free miles you have, no matter how big the truck you
drive, no matter your opinion about seat belt law, the safest place for you to be in a
crash is behind a buckled safety belt. Besides keeping you from careening through
the cab, it holds you in a position to possibly regain control and avoid secondary
collisions - so even more travelers get to Arrive Alive.

MoDOT Is Ready to Assist

There is a lot to know about operating safely and within the law. Visit us in person,
by phone or through the Internet and ask us anything! Whether you need help with a
form or guidance in understanding a regulation, we’re ready to help 24 hours a day.

File fuel tax returns, renew the authority to operate, apply for oversize overweight
permits and pay fees online with MoDOT Carrier Express. E-mail us anytime at
ContactMCS@modot.mo.gov. Visit www.modot.org to find all you want to know
about Missouri’s highway and other transportation systems. There’s even a traveler’s
map that reports the location of work zones and other lane closures.

Finally, we want you to be successful. Safety is key to success. [ hope that you find
this Safety Compliance Manual easy to understand. Keep in mind that it is strictly a
tool to be used as guidance. It is not intended to take the place of studying the regu-
lations. For specific regulations please refer to Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations.

S%els.

Motor Carrier Services Director
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Preface

This guide was developed to assist motor carriers in achieving safety compliance
with the State and Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSR). Sample
forms for driver qualification files, accident registers, maintenance records, and
other items are included.

This is a guide and not intended to take the place of the regulations. For specific
regulations please refer to Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations.

Some regulations contained in Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations, while not
enforceable by Motor Carrier Services Division, may be enforceable by other agen-
cies within the state. Sample forms included may be used to comply with regula-
tory requirements, but are not mandated. Other form layouts that contain the same
information or perform the same task may be sufficient. Occasionally, regulations
mandate a specified form or content of a form (e.g. 49 CFR 391.43 mandates the
DOT physical examination form). Consult the underlying regulation if there is any
question as to the correctness of a form.

Our overall goal is to improve the safe transportation of passengers and goods on
Missouri’s highways through a coordinated effort of federal, state, and industry
organizations to reduce fatalities, injuries, property damage and hazardous materi-
als incidents.

This booklet is comprised of eighteen sections, each containing a specific safety
regulation topic that is covered in the FMCSRs. These parts are listed in the Table
of Contents. Each part contains information sheets that cover the highlights of that
section. Please feel free to reproduce any or all material in this package and to dis-
tribute copies as needed. You may also obtain this information on the Federal Motor
Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) web site at www.fmcsa.dot.gov/ or the
MoDOT Motor Carrier Services web site at http:\\www.modot.org/mcs.

It is the responsibility of motor carrier operators and drivers to know and comply
with all applicable FMCSRs. Safety compliance and safe operations translate into
saved lives and property. We believe the information in this package, when effec-
tively applied, will contribute to safer motor carrier operations and highways.



Are You Subject To The Safety Regulations?

Effective August 28, 2004, (Signing of Senate Bill
1233)

Code of Federal Regulations Parts 100 through 180
(Hazardous Material Regulations) and Parts 382
through 397 (Safety Regulations) generally pertain to:

= Any person operating any Commercial Motor
Vehicle with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating
(GVWR) or Gross Combination Weight Rating
(GCWR) greater than 10,000 pounds in Interstate
Commerce.

= Any person operating any Commercial Motor
Vehicle with a GVWR or GCWR greater than
26,000 pounds in Intrastate Commerce, unless
transporting any amount of Hazardous Materials.

= Any person operating any Commercial Motor
Vehicle in Interstate or Intrastate Commerce trans-
porting Hazardous Materials that is required to be
placarded.

Missouri Intrastate Exemptions

A. Vehicles with less than 26,001 pounds GVWR or
GCWR unless transporting passengers or any
amount of Hazardous Materials.

B. Vehicles licensed for 60,000 pounds or less and
are used exclusively to transport solid waste (Intra-
state only);

C. Vehicles licensed for 42,000 pounds or less and the
license plate has been designated for farm use by
the letter F (Intrastate only), unless such vehicle is
transporting hazardous materials;

D. Persons having a valid Missouri Chauffeur’s Li-
cense on May 13, 1988 are not subject to the medi-
cal requirements of Section 391.41 (In intrastate
commerce only).

Notice To Passenger Carriers

Passenger carriers are subject to the Safety Regula-

tions if the vehicle is:

= Designed or used to transport 9 or more passengers
(including the driver);

= Designed or used to transport 16 or more passen-
gers (including the driver) and is not used to trans-
port passengers for compensation.

= Exceptions:
390.3(f)(6) The operation of commercial motor
vehicles designed or used to transport between
9 and 15 passengers (including the driver) not for
direct compensation, provided the vehicle does not
otherwise meet the definition of a commercial mo-
tor vehicle except for the texting provisions of
391.15(3) and 392.80, and except that motor carri-
ers operating such vehicles are required to comply
with 390.15; 390.19; 390.21(a) and (b)(2); 391.15(f);
392.80; and 392.82

Notes:

Effective June 1, 2010, Commercial Motor Vehicles de-
signed or used to transport 9-15 passengers (including the
driver), for direct compensation are subject to the Safety
Regulations, regardless of the distance traveled.

Effective May 13, 1988, Missouri adopted the Federal
Regulations with the signing of Senate Bill 433.

Effective August 28, 2012 Parts 390-397 no longer are ap-
plicable to passenger vehicles operating in intrastate com-
merce with a designed seating capacity of 7-8 passengers
including the driver unless the vehicle otherwise meets the
definition of a commercial motor vehicle. For Missouri in-
trastate commerce, a commercial motor vehicle is defined
as a vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating or gross
combination weight rating in excess of 26,000 pounds,

a vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating or gross
combination weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more, and
transporting any amount of hazardous materials, of any
size and transporting placardable quantities of hazardous
materials, or have a designed seating capacity of 9 or more

passengers including the driver.



New Entrant
Rule Summary

Are you a new entrant?

Are you new to interstate commerce?

Have you been notified that you are subject to a New Entrant Safety Audit?
If so, this subject applies to you!






What is the applicability of the rule?

The changes to the New Entrant Safety Assurance
Program (new entrant program) under 49 CFR Part
385, subpart D apply to all new U.S.- and Canada-
domiciled motor carrier owners and operators seeking
authority to conduct interstate operations within the
United States.

The new application process and safety monitor-

ing system under 49 CFR Part 385, subparts H and

I respectively, apply to all new non-North America-
domiciled motor carrier owners and operators seeking
authority to provide transportation of property and
passengers in interstate commerce within the United
States.

Conforming amendments to 49 CFR Parts 365, 387
and 390 apply to all new U.S.-, Canada-, and non-
North America-domiciled motor carrier owners and
operators seeking authority to conduct interstate
operations within the United States.

NE Rule Questions and Answers (Q&A)

What are the consequences of furnishing misleading
information or making a false statement in connection
with the registration process? (§ 385.306)

A carrier that furnishes false or misleading informa-

tion, or conceals material information in connection

with the registration process, is subject to the follow-

ing actions:

(@) Revocation of registration.

(b) Assessment of the civil and/or criminal penalties
prescribed in 49 U.S.C. 521 and 49 U.S.C. chapter
149.

What happens after a motor carrier
begins operations as a new entrant?
(§ 385.307)

The new entrant’s roadside safety performance will be
closely monitored to ensure the new entrant has basic
safety management controls that are operating effec-
tively.

What may cause an expedited action?
(§ 385.308)

A new entrant that commits any of the following ac-
tions, identified through roadside inspections or by
any other means, may be subjected to an expedited
safety audit or a compliance review or may be re-
quired to submit a written response demonstrating
corrective action:

(1) Using a driver not possessing a valid commercial
driver’s license to operate a commercial vehicle as
defined under § 383.5. An invalid commercial
driver’s license includes one that is falsified, re-
voked, expired, or missing a required endorse-
ment.

(2) Operating a vehicle placed out of service for
violations of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Regulations or compatible State laws and regula-
tions without taking necessary corrective action.

(3) Being involved in, through action or omission, a
hazardous materials reportable incident, as
described under 49 CFR 171.15 or 171.16, involv-
ing:

(1) A highway route controlled quantity of cer-
tain radioactive materials (Class 7).

(i) Any quantity of certain explosives (Class 1,
Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3).

(ii1) Any quantity of certain poison inhalation
hazard materials (Zone A or B).

(4) Being involved in, through action or omission,
two or more hazardous materials reportable
incidents as described under 49 CFR 171.15 or
171.16, involving hazardous materials other than
those listed above.

(5) Using a driver who tests positive for controlled
substances or alcohol or who refuses to submit to
required controlled substances or alcohol tests.

(6) Operating a commercial motor vehicle without the
levels of financial responsibility required under
Part 387 of this subchapter.

(7) Having a driver or vehicle out-of-service rate of
50 percent or more based upon at least three
inspections occurring within a consecutive 90-
day period.



If a new entrant that commits any of
the expedited action violations listed
above:

(1) Carrier has not had a safety audit or compliance
review; FMCSA will schedule the new entrant for
a safety audit as soon as practicable.

(2) Carrier has had a safety audit or compliance
review, FMCSA will send the new entrant a notice
advising it to submit evidence of corrective action
within 30 days of the service date of the notice.
(@) FMCSA may schedule a compliance review

of a new entrant that commits any of the ac-
tions listed in paragraph (a) of this section

at any time if it determines the violation war-
rants a thorough review of the new entrant’s
operation.

(b) Failure to respond within 30 days of the notice
to an Agency demand for a written response
demonstrating corrective action will result in
the revocation of the new entrant’s registra-
tion.

What happens after completion of the
safety audit? (§ 385.319)

Upon completion of the safety audit, the auditor will
review the findings with the new entrant.

(a) Pass. If FMCSA determines the safety audit
discloses the new entrant has adequate basic
safety management controls, the Agency will
provide the new entrant written notice as soon
as practicable, but not later than 45 days af-
ter completion of the safety audit, that it has
adequate basic safety management controls.
The new entrant’s safety performance will
continue to be closely monitored for the
remainder of the 12-month period of new
entrant registration.

(b) Fail. If FMCSA determines the safety audit
discloses the new entrant’s basic safety
management controls are inadequate, the
Agency will provide the new entrant written
notice, as soon as practicable, but not later
than 45 days after the completion of the safety
audit, that its USDOT new entrant registra-

(1)

@)

tion will be revoked and its operations placed
out-of-service unless it takes the actions to rem-
edy its safety management practices.

60-day corrective action requirement. All new

entrants, except those specified in paragraph (b)

of this section (below), must take the specified

actions to remedy inadequate safety management
practices within 60 days of the date of the notice.
45-day corrective action requirement. The new
entrants listed below must take the specified
actions to remedy inadequate safety management
practices within 45 days of the date of the notice.

(i) A new entrant that transports passengers in a
CMYV designed tor used to transport between
9 and 15 passengers (9ncluding the driver) for
direct compensation.

(i) A new entrant that transports passengers in a
CMYV designed or used to transport more than
15 passengers (including the driver).

(ii1) A new entrant that transports hazardous
materials in a CMV as defined in the defini-
tion of a “Commercial Motor Vehicle” in
§ 390.5.

What failures of safety management

practices disclosed by the safety audit

will result in a notice to a new entrant
that its USDOT new entrant registra-
tion will be revoked? (§ 385.321)

The failures of safety management practices consist of
a lack of basic safety management controls or failure
to comply with one or more of the regulations set forth
in the chart below and will result in a notice to a new
entrant that its USDOT new entrant registration will
be revoked.



Automatic failure of the audit. A new entrant will automatically fail a
safety audit if found in violation of any one of the following 16 regula-

tions:

Table to § 385.321 Violations That Will Result in Automatic Failure of the New Entrant Safety Audit

Violation

Guidelines for Determining

Automatic Failure of the
Safety Audit

§ 382.115(a)/ § 382.115(b) — Failing to implement an alcohol and/or
controlled substances testing program (domestic and foreign motor
carriers, respectively).

Single occurrence.

§ 382.201 — Using a driver known to have an alcohol content of 0.04 or
greater to perform a safety-sensitive function.

Single occurrence.

§ 382.211 — Using a driver who has refused to submit to an alcohol or
controlled substances test required under Part 382.

Single occurrence

§ 382.215 — Using a driver known to have tested positive for a controlled
substance.

Single occurrence.

§ 382.305 — Failing to implement a random controlled substances
and/or alcohol testing program.

Single occurrence.

§ 383.3(a)/ § 383.23(a) — Knowingly using a driver who does not
possess a valid CDL.

Single occurrence.

§ 383.37(a) — Knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing an
employee with a commercial driver’s license which is suspended, revoked, or

canceled by a State or who is disqualified to operate a commercial motor vehicle.

Single occurrence.

§ 383.51(a) — Knowingly allowing, requiring, permitting, or authorizing
a driver to drive who is disqualified to drive a commercial motor vehicle.

Single occurrence.

This violation refers to a
driver operating a CMV as
defined under § 383.5.

§ 387.7(a) — Operating a motor vehicle without having in effect the required
minimum levels of financial responsibility coverage.

Single occurrence.

§ 387.31(a) — Operating a passenger carrying vehicle without having in effect the
required minimum levels of financial responsibility.

Single occurrence.

§ 391.11(b)(4) — Knowingly using a physically unqualified driver.

Single occurrence. This
violation refers to a driver
operating a CMV as defined
under § 390.5

§ 391.15(a) — Knowingly using a disqualified driver

Single occurrence.

§ 395.8(a) — Failing to require a driver to make a record of duty status.

Requires a violation
threshold (51% or more of
examined records) to trigger
automatic failure.

§ 396.9(c)(2) — Requiring or permitting the operation of a commercial motor
vehicle declared “out-of-service” before repairs are made.

Single occurrence.

§ 396.11(c)-Failing to correct out-of-service defects listed by driver in a driver
vehicle inspection report before the vehicle is operated again.

Single occurrence.

§ 396.17(a)- Using a commercial motor vehicle not periodically inspected.

Requires a violation
threshold (51% or more of
examined records) to trigger
automatic failure.



May FMCSA extend the period under
§ 385.319(c) for a new entrant to take
corrective action to remedy its safety
management practices? (§ 385.323)

FMCSA may extend the 60-day period in § 385.319(c)
(1) for up to an additional 60 days provided FMCSA
determines the new entrant is making a good faith ef-
fort to remedy its safety management practices.

FMCSA may extend the 45-day period in § 385.319(c)
(2) for up to an additional 10 days if the new entrant
has submitted evidence that corrective actions have
been taken pursuant to §385.319(c) and the Agency
needs additional time to determine the adequacy of
the corrective action.

What happens after a new entrant has
been notified under § 385.319(c) to take
corrective action to remedy its safety
management practices? (§ 385.325)

If a new entrant, after being notified that it is required

to take corrective action to improve its safety man-

agement practices, fails to submit a written response

demonstrating corrective action acceptable to FMCSA

within the time specified in § 385.319, and any ex-

tension of that period authorized under § 385.323,

FMCSA will revoke its new entrant registration and

issue an out-of-service order effective on:

(1) Day 61 from the notice date for new entrants sub-
ject to § 385.319(c)(1).

(2) Day 46 from the notice date for new entrants sub-
ject to § 385.319(c)(2).

(3) Ifan extension has been granted under § 385.323,
the day following the expiration of the extension
date.

May a new entrant request an administrative review of
a determination of a failed safety audit? (§ 385.327)

If a new entrant receives a notice under § 385.319(c)
that its new entrant registration will be revoked, it
may request FMCSA to conduct an administrative re-
view if it believes FMCSA has committed an error in
determining that its basic safety management controls
are inadequate.

The request must:
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(I) Be made to the Field Administrator of the appro-
priate FMCSA Service Center

(2) Explain the error the new entrant believes FMC-
SA committed in its determination.

(3) Include a list of all factual and procedural issues
in dispute and any information or documents that
support the new entrant’s argument.

FMCSA may request that the new entrant submit ad-
ditional data and attend a conference to discuss the
issue(s) in dispute. If the new entrant does not attend
the conference or does not submit the requested data,
FMCSA may dismiss the new entrant’s request for
review.

A new entrant must submit a request for an admin-
istrative review within one of the following time
periods:

(1) If it does not submit evidence of corrective action
under § 385.319(c), within 90 days after the date
it is notified that its basic safety management
controls are inadequate.

(2) If it submits evidence of corrective action under
§ 385.319(c), within 90 days after the date it is
notified that its corrective action is insufficient
and its basic safety management controls remain
inadequate.

If a new entrant wants to assure that FMCSA will be
able to issue a final written decision before the pro-
hibitions outlined in § 385.325(c) take effect, the new
entrant must submit its request no later than 15 days
from the date of the notice that is basic safety man-
agement controls are inadequate. Failure to submit
the request within this 15-day period may result in
revocation of new entrant registration and issuance of
an out-of-service order before completion of adminis-
trative review.
FMCSA will complete its review and notify the new
entrant in writing of its decision within:
(I) 45 days after receiving a request for review from
a new entrant that is subject to § 385.319(c)(1).
(2) 30 days after receiving a request for review from
a new entrant that is subject to § 385.319(c)(2).

The Field Administrator’s decision constitutes the
final Agency action.



May a new entrant that has had its US-
DOT new entrant registration revoked
and its operations placed out of service
reapply? (§ 385.329)

A new entrant whose USDOT new entrant registration
has been revoked, and whose operations have been
placed out of service by FMCSA, may reapply for new
entrant registration no sooner than 30 days after the
date of revocation.

If the USDOT new entrant registration was revoked
because of a failed safety audit, the new entrant must
do all the following:

() Submit an updated MCS-150.

(2) Submit evidence that it has corrected the deficien-
cies that resulted in revocation of its registration
and will otherwise ensure that it will have basic
safety management controls in effect.

(3) Begin the 18-month new entrant monitoring
cycle again as of the date the re-filed application
is approved.

If the USDOT new entrant registration was revoked
because FMCSA found that the new entrant had failed
to submit to a safety audit, it must do all the follow-
ing:
() Submit an updated MCS-150.
(2) Begin the 18-month new entrant monitoring
cycle again as of the date the re-filed application
is approved.
(3) Submit to a safety audit.

If the new entrant is a for-hire carrier subject to the
registration provisions under 49 U.S.C. 13901 and also
has had its operating authority revoked, it must re-
apply for operating authority.

What happens if a new entrant operates a CMV after
having been issued an order placing its interstate op-
erations out of service? (§ 385.331)

A new entrant that operates a CMV in violation of an
out-of-service order is subject to the penalty provi-
sions in U.S.C. 521(B)(2)(A) for each offense as ad-
justed for inflation by 49 CFR Part 386, Appendix B.

What happens if a new entrant refused
to permit a safety audit to be per-
formed on its operations? (§ 385.337)

If a new entrant refuses to permit a safety audit to be
performed on its operations, FMCSA will provide the
carrier with written notice that its registration will be
revoked and its operations placed out of service unless
the new entrant agrees in writing, within 10 days from
the service date of the notice, to permit the safety
audit to be performed. The refusal to permit a safety
audit to be performed by subject the new entrant to
the penalty provisions of 49 U.S.C 521(b)(2)(A), as ad-
justed for inflation by 49 CFR Part 386, Appendix B.

How does a motor carrier apply for a
safety permit? (§ 385.405)

Application form(s).

(1) To apply for a new safety permit or renewal of
the safety permit, a motor carrier must complete
and submit Form MCS-150B, Combined Motor
Carrier Identification Report and HM Permit Ap-
plication.

(2) The Form MCS-150B will also satisfy the re-
quirements for obtaining and renewing a USDOT
Number; there is no need to complete Form MCS-
150, Motor Carrier Identification Report.

Under what circumstances will a safety
permit be subject to revocation or
suspension by FMCSA? (§ 385.421)

A motor carrier provides any false or misleading
information on its application (Form MCS-150B) or as
part of updated information it is providing on FORM
MCS-150B (see § 385.405(d)).






Compliance
Safety
Accountability






What is CSA?

Compliance Safety Accountability (CSA) is a Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Administration safety initia-
tive that improves the effectiveness compliance and
enforcement programs. CSA helps the FMCSA assess
the safety performance of a greater segment of the
motor carrier industry and allows earlier interven-
tion to change unsafe behavior and practices before
they result in tragedy. The ultimate goal of CSA is

to achieve a greater reduction in large truck and bus
crashes, injuries, and fatalities, while making efficient
use of FMCSA and State resources.

In contrast to the current safety model, SafeStat, CSA
is characterized by three principal components:

(I) A more comprehensive carrier safety measure-
ment system;

(2) A broader array of interventions that increase in
severity. In addition to comprehensive on-site
investigations (compliance reviews), corrective
steps include warning letters, off-site investiga-
tions and on-site investigations focused on areas
of concern; and

(3) A PROPOSED new safety fitness determination
(SFD) method based more on performance data
and not necessarily tied to an on-site investiga-
tion.

CSA was implemented November 30, 2010. On that
day, FMCSA:

() Replaced SafeStat with CSMS,

(2) Implemented a revised nationwide Inspection Se-
lection System for roadside inspectors based on
the Carrier Safety Measurement System.

Carrier Safety Measurement System
(CSMS)

FMCSA replaced SafeStat with the Carrier Safety
Management System (CSMS). CSMS works within
the CSA operational model to monitor and quantify
the safety performance of commercial motor carriers
using data available in FMCSA’s motor carrier data-
base.

Under CSA, these data include violations found dur-
ing roadside inspections, traffic enforcement and
other types of interventions. CSMS groups these data
into seven Behavioral Analysis Safety Improvement
Categories (BASICs):

= Unsafe Driving,

= Fatigued Driving (Hours-of-Service),

= Driver Fitness,

= Controlled Substances and Alcohol,

= Vehicle Maintenance,

= Hazardous Materials, and

= Crash History.

The carrier and driver behaviors tracked by the BA-
SICs are tightly correlated to crash incidence.

CSMS differs from SafeStat in that CSMS:

1. Is organized by seven specific behavioral areas
(BASICs);

2. Uses all safety-based inspection violations;
3. Uses risk-based violation weightings.

For further information on the CSMS see the Safety
Measurement System methodology at http:/csa.fmcesa.
dot.gov.
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Policies and Procedures provide the 6 Meaningful

foundation for an effective safety management i

strategy. Policies are dlre?tly relate.d to . Polcies and
established safety regulations and identify Procedures
actions that need to be taken. Procedures

. 5. Monitoring
are those actions that must be performed to and Tracking
comply with policies. Safety

o ofsgs - . Management
Roles and Responsibilities is the “Who” will be w
2. Roles and
] Responsibilities

Cycle
responsible for implementing the policies and
3. Qualification

procedures within an organization.

4. Training and
Qualification and Hiring is the process of -
carefully evaluating potential employees and
ultimately selecting the best qualified candidate

and Hiring

for every position.

Training and Communication is the education component that ensures all employees are
knowledgeable of the organization’s policies and procedures and understand the expectations of their
role in supporting safe practices.

Monitoring and Tracking is the act of “looking and collecting”. Observing how established safety
practices are being performed and then recording the data that is collected from those observations.

Meaningful Action is the process of evaluating the data collected to determine if there are any
breakdowns in the safety system. It also assists in identifying where in the process a breakdown may
have occurred and should suggest some level of corrective action to minimize the risk of recurrence.
If the breakdown is determined to be central to a core practice of the safety management system, a
reevaluation of the organization’s policies and procedures may be necessary.

The most critical breakdowns your organization may face
cannot simply be repaired with a service call!

Minimize your risks by adopting strong safety practices that reinforce the Safety
Management Cycle and ensure the continued success of your organization.



Entry Level and
Special Training
Requirements






Applicability

= All entry-level drivers that operate a Commercial
Motor Vehicle (CMV) requiring the possession of
a Commercial Drivers License (CDL).

»  Effective July 20, 2003, all new CDL holders with
less than one (1) year experience must be trained.

Entry-level driver training is training the CDL driver
receives in driver qualification requirements, hours of
service of drivers, driver wellness, and whistle blower
protection as appropriate to the entry-level driver’s
current position in addition to passing the CDL test.

Requirements

= Proof of training — An employer who uses an
entry-level driver must ensure the driver has
received a training certificate containing all the
information contained in 380.513 from the training
provider.

Employer Responsibilities

= Ensure entry-level drivers receive training
= File training certificate

= Maintenance of records

= Recordkeeping

Training Certificate
Requirements

= Date of certificate issuance

= Name of training provider

= Mailing address of training provider

= Name of driver

= A statement that the driver has completed the
training

= Printed name and signature of the person attesting
that the driver received the required training

Note:

For more detailed information on Longer Combina-
tion Vehicles (LCV), see Title 49, FMCSR, Part 380.
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Alcohol and
Drug Testing
Requirements






Part 382

Alcohol and Drug Testing Require-

ments

Applicability

Drivers required to have a commercial driver’s license
(CDL) are subject to the controlled substance and al-
cohol testing rules. This requirement extends to those
drivers currently covered by the rule, including inter-
state and intrastate truck and motor coach operations.
This includes all commercial motor vehicles operated

= For-hire and private companies

= Federal, state, local, and tribal governments
= Church and civic organizations

= Apiarian industries

Exemptions

= Drivers exempt from commercial driver’s license
requirements by their issuing State
= Active duty military personnel

Part 382 Definitions
382.107 Definitions

“Positive Drug and Alcohol Tests” —

1) Alcohol tests with a result of 0.04 or higher alco-
hol concentration,;

2) Verified positive drug tests;

3) Refusals to be tested (including verified adulter-
ated or substituted drug test results)

“Positive rate for random drug testing” — means the
number of verified positive results for random drug
tests conducted under this part plus the number of
refusals of random drug tests required by this part, di-
vided by the total number of random drug tests results
(i.e., positives, negatives, and refusals) under this part.

“Refusal to submit (to an alcohol or controlled sub-
stance test)” - a driver (1) fails to provide adequate
breath for testing without a valid medical explanation
after he or she has received notice of the requirement
for breath testing, (2) fails to provide adequate urine
for controlled substances testing without a valid medi-
cal explanation after he or she has received notice of
the requirement for urine testing, or (3) engages in
conduct that clearly obstructs the testing process.

“Safety-sensitive function” - any of those on-duty
functions set forth in 395.2 On-Duty Time, para-
graphs (1) through (6) as listed below:

1) All time at a carrier or shipper plant, terminal,
facility, or other property, waiting to be dispatched,
unless the driver has been relieved from duty by
the employer.

2) All time inspecting equipment as required by
the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
(FMCSR?s), or otherwise inspecting, servicing, or
conditioning any commercial motor vehicle at any
time.

3) All time spent at the driving controls of a commer-
cial motor vehicle.

4) All time, other than driving time, spent on or in a
commercial motor vehicle (except for time spent
resting in the sleeper berth).

5) All time loading or unloading a commercial motor
vehicle, supervising, or assisting in the loading or
unloading, attending a vehicle being loaded or un-
loaded, remaining in readiness to operate the ve-
hicle, or in giving or receiving receipts for ship-
ments loaded or unloaded.

6) All time repairing, obtaining assistance, or remain-
ing in attendance upon a disabled vehicle.

Additional definitions may be found in 49 CFR, Part
40 and Part 382.

Types of Alcohol and Controlled Sub-
stance Tests

Pre-employment: No employer shall allow a driver
to perform a safety sensitive function until they have
received the negative controlled substance test result.

Post-accident: As soon as practicable following an
accident involving a commercial motor vehicle operat-
ing on a public road in commerce, each employer
shall test for alcohol and controlled substances of
each surviving driver: Who was performing safety-
sensitive functions with respect to the vehicle, if the
accident involved the loss of human life; or Who
receives a citation under state or local law for a mov-
ing traffic violation arising from the accident, if the
accident involved: Bodily injury to any person who,

21



as a result of the injury, immediately receives medical
treatment away from the scene of the accident; or One
or more motor vehicles incurring disabling damage as

mance of a safety-sensitive function after engaging in
conduct prohibited by subpart B of this part concern-
ing alcohol or controlled substances, the driver shall

Type of Accident Citation Issued to the Test Must be Performed
Involved CMYV Driver by Employer
i. Human fatality YES YES
NO YES

ii. Bodily injury with immediate YES YES

medical treatment away

from the scene NO NO
iii. Disabling damage to any YES YES

motor vehicle

requiring tow away NO NO

a result of the accident, requiring the motor vehicle to
be transported away from the scene by a tow truck or
other motor vehicle.

Random: Companies are to scientifically and ran-
domly test drivers at a minimum annual percentage
rate of 10% of the number of drivers for alcohol test-
ing, and 25% for controlled substances testing. The
random alcohol test must be performed prior, during
or just after a driver is about to, or has performed a
safety sensitive function as defined in Section 382.107.
All drivers must have an equal chance of being se-
lected.

Reasonable suspicion: An employer shall require

a driver to submit to an alcohol and/or controlled
substance test when the employer has reasonable
suspicion to believe that the driver has violated the
prohibitions concerning alcohol and/or controlled sub-
stances. The employer’s determination that reasonable
suspicion exists to require the driver to undergo an
alcohol and/or controlled substance test must be based
on specific, contemporaneous, articulate observations
concerning the appearance, behavior, speech or body
odors of the driver. The required observations shall
be made by a supervisor or company official who is
trained in accordance with Section 382.603 (Supervi-
sor Awareness Training).

Return-to-duty: Each employer shall ensure that
before a driver returns to duty requiring the perfor-
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undergo a return-to-duty alcohol test with a result
indicating an alcohol concentration of less than 0.02
or the driver shall undergo a return-to-duty controlled
substances test with a result indicating a verified nega-
tive result for controlled substances use.

Follow-up: If a substance abuse professional has de-
termined that a driver needs assistance for the misuse
of alcohol, or for use of a controlled substance, an em-
ployer must ensure that the driver is subject to follow-
up testing. A minimum of six tests must be conducted
in the first 12 months, and the driver may only be
subject to this test for a maximum of 60 months.

Retention of Records

Five Years:

= Alcohol test results indicating a Breath Alcohol
Concentration (BAC) of 0.02 or greater

= Verified positive drug test results

= Refusals to submit to required alcohol and drug
tests
Required calibration of Evidential Breath Testing
(EBT) devices

Two Years:
= Records related to the collection process and re-
quired training



One Year:

= Negative and canceled controlled substance test
results

= Alcohol test results indicating a BAC of less than
0.02

Location of Records

All required records shall be maintained in a secure
location with limited access, and shall be made avail-
able for inspection by an authorized representative of
the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

Driver Awareness

Every motor carrier shall provide educational materi-
als explaining the requirements of the regulations as
well as the employer’s policies regarding alcohol mis-
use and controlled substances abuse. At a minimum,
detailed discussions should include:

= The identity of the person designated to answer
drug and alcohol questions

= Which drivers are subject to these requirements,
what behavior is prohibited, and a clarification of
what a “safety sensitive function” is

s The circumstances under which a driver will be
tested, and the procedures that will be used for
testing

= Explanations of the requirement that a driver sub-
mit to the testing, as well as what constitutes a
driver’s refusal to submit to testing

= The consequences for drivers who have violated
the testing requirements

= Information concerning the effects of alcohol mis-
use, and controlled substances abuse on health,
work, and personal life

Supervisor Training

Each employer shall ensure that all persons desig-
nated to supervise drivers receive at least 60 minutes
of training on alcohol misuse and receive at least an
additional 60 minutes of training on controlled sub-
stances use. The training will be used by the supervi-
sors to determine whether reasonable suspicion exists
to require a driver to undergo testing under Section
382.307. The training shall include the physical, be-

havioral, speech, and performance indicators of prob-
able alcohol misuse and use of controlled substances.
Recurrent training for supervisory personnel is not
required. (382.603)

Company Policy

The FMCSA regulations require that a written policy
on controlled substances use and alcohol misuse in the
workplace be developed and that the policy be pro-
vided to every driver. The policy must incorporate the
company’s position and information on virtually all
aspects of controlled substances use and alcohol mis-
use program (382.601). The following is a checklist of
the items that should be included in a policy.

Policy Components Required by the Controlled Sub-

stances and Alcohol Rule (382.601)

= Overview (suggested but not required)

= Categories of drivers subject to testing

= Participation as a requirement of employment

= Required hours of compliance

= Prohibited behavior

= Circumstances for testing

= Behavior that constitutes a refusal to submit to a
test

= Consequences for drivers with an alcohol concen-
tration of 0.02 or greater but less than 0.04

= Testing procedures

= Consequences of use of controlled substances and
misuse of alcohol

= Identity of contact person

= Effects of alcohol and controlled substances

Inquiries to Previous Employers

A motor carrier, with the driver’s written authoriza-
tion, shall inquire about the following information
on a driver from the driver’s previous employers for
a period of three years preceding the driver’s date of
application. Section 391.23(e)(1)

If you are an employer from whom information is
requested under 40.25(b), you must, after reviewing
the employee’s specific, written consent, immediately
release the requested information to the employer
making the inquiry. Section 40.25(h):
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= Alcohol tests with a result of 0.04 alcohol concen-
tration or greater

= Verified positive controlled substances test results
and

= Refusals to be tested

= Other violations of DOT agency drug and alcohol
testing regulations

= With respect to any employee who violated a DOT
drug and alcohol regulation, documentation of the
employee’s successful completion of DOT return-
to-duty requirements (including follow-up tests).
If the previous employer does not have information
about the return-to-duty process (e.g., an employer
who did not hire an employee who tested positive
on a pre-employment test), you must seek to obtain
this information from the employee.

Consortium Information

MoDOT Motor Carrier Services Division does not
endorse any consortium. You are reminded that your
company is responsible for drug and alcohol testing
compliance. Evaluate carefully any company retained
to provide consortium or laboratory testing services.
Some companies provide more limited services.

Be sure that the company selected provides all the
services you need to ensure full compliance with the
regulations.

To locate a consortium, you may contact one of the
many associations dealing with the commercial motor
vehicle industry, a hospital, a clinic to provide you
with the name of a consortium or a simple search on
the internet for DOT drug and alcohol testing.

A web site that may be beneficial as a resource for one
of the many associations is www.dot.gov, go to Safety,
Drug and Alcohol Safety.
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Suggested Format: “Release of Information Form -- 49 CFR Part 40 Drug and Alcohol Testing”

Section I To be completed by the new employer, signed by the employee, and transmitted to the previous employer:

Employee Printed or Typed Name:

Employee SS or ID Number:

I hereby authorize release of information from my Department of Transportation regulated drug and alcohol testing records by my
previous employer, listed in Section I-B, to the employer listed in Section I-A. This release is in accordance with DOT Regulation 49
CFR Part 40, Section 40.25. I understand that information to be released in Section II-A by my previous employer, is limited to the

following DOT-regulated testing items:

Alcohol tests with a result of 0.04 or higher;

. Verified positive drug tests;

. Refusals to be tested;

. Other violations of DOT agency drug and alcohol testing regulations;

AU AW —

Employee Signature:

. Information obtained from previous employers of a drug and alcohol rule violation;

. Documentation, if any, of completion of the return-to-duty process following a rule violation.

Date:

I-A
New Employer Name:

Address:

Phone #: Fax #:

Designated Employer Representative:

I-B
Previous Employer Name:

Address:

Phone #:

Designated Employer Representative (if known):

Section Il To be completed by the previous employer and transmitted by mail or fax to the new employer:

II-A 1In the two years prior to the date of the employee’s signature (in Section I), for DOT-regulated testing ~

1. Did the employee have alcohol tests with a result of 0.04 or higher? Yes
2. Did the employee have verified positive drug tests? Yes
3. Did the employee refuse to be tested? Yes
4. Did the employee have other violations of DOT agency drug and

alcohol testing regulations? Yes
. Did a previous employer report a drug and alcohol rule
violation to you? Yes
. If you answered “yes” to any of the above items, did the

employee complete the return-to-duty process? N/A Yes

No

No

NOTE: If you answered “yes” to item 5, you must provide the previous employer’s report. If you answered “yes” to

item 6, you must also transmit the appropriate return-to-duty documentation (e.g., SAP report(s), follow-up testing record)

II-B Name of person providing information in Section II-A:

Title:

Phone #:

Date:

NOTE EXCEPTION: Employers
covered under FMCSA regulations
must seek three years of previous
testing records.
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Observed Behavior - Reasonable Cause Record

Employee Name

Observation Date

Identification Number

Location

Street

City

State

Zip

Cause For Suspicion

1) Presence of Drugs and/or Drug Paraphernalia (specify)

2) Appearance [0 Normal O Flushed O Puncture Marks
O Disheveled O Bloodshot Eyes O Profuse Sweating
O Dry-mouth Symptoms O Runny Nose/Sores O Tremors
O Dilated/Constricted Pupils O Inappropriate wearing of sunglasses
O Other
3) Behavior/ O Normal O Incoherent O Slurred O Silent
Speech O Confused O Slowed O Whispering
O Other
Awareness [ Normal O Confused O Mood Swings O Euphoria
O Lethargic O Paranoid O Disoriented
O Lack of Coordination
O Other
4) Motor Skills 0 Normal O Swaying O Falling O Staggering
Balance O Other
Walking & O Normal O Swaying O Arms Raised for Balance
Turning O Stumbling O Falling O Reaching for Support
O Other
5) Other Observed Actions or Behavior (specify)
Witnessed By
am/pm
Signature Title Date Time
am/pm
Signature Title Date Time
NOTE

This document must be prepared and signed by the witnesses within
24 hours of the observed behavior or before the results of the test are

released, whichever is earlier (49 CFR 391.99(d)).
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Part 383

Commercial Driver’s License Stan-

dards

Requirements and Penalties

The licensing provisions in Part 383 are intended to
help reduce accidents by setting standards that:

= Require commercial drivers to be properly quali-
fied and to hold a single valid driver’s license
(CDL) and

= Disqualify drivers who do not operate a Commer-
cial Motor Vehicle (CMV) safely

Vehicles Requiring Commercial Driver’s
Licenses

Drivers must hold a CDL if they operate in interstate,
intrastate, or foreign commerce and drive a vehicle:

= A single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds
or more, or

= A GCWR 0f 26,001 pounds or more, inclusive
of a towed unit with a GVWR of more than 10,000
pounds, or

= Designed to transport at least 16 passengers includ-
ing the driver, or

= A single or combination vehicle with a gross
weight of 26,001 pounds or more, or

= Transporting a quantity of hazardous materials
requiring placarding

Exception: Effective Oct. 1, 2012 CDL requirements
are no longer applicable to Covered Farm Vehicle
drivers. A Covered Farm Vehicle driver is a driver
who operates:

* Any vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 pounds or
less; or

* Any vehicle with a GVWR greater than 26,001
pounds and traveling wholly within the state the
vehicle is licensed from or within 150 air miles of the
farm/ranch in interstate commerce

* Operated by a farm/ranch owner or operator, em-
ployee or family member

* Transporting agricultural commodities, livestock,
machinery or supplies to or from the farm/ranch

* The vehicle must be identified by a special license

plate. (In Missouri, this is indicated by the ‘F’ tab on
the plate.)

» The vehicle may not be operated for-hire

* Is not transporting hazardous materials requiring
placarding

Because the CDL is a state-issued license, you should
check with appropriate state officials regarding par-
ticular license classes and specific exemptions.

*Gross combination weight rating (GCWR) means
the value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded
weight of a combination (articulated) vehicle. In the
absence of a value specified by the manufacturer,
GCWR will be determined by adding the GVWR of
the power unit and the total weight of the towed unit
and any load thereon.

*Gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) means the
value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded
weight of a single vehicle.

Notification to Employer and
Licensing State

Upon conviction for any state or local traffic violation,
a driver must notify his/her employer(s) within 30
days. This notification must be in writing and must
include the following information:

= Driver’s full name

= Driver’s license number

= Date of conviction

= Details about the offense, including any resulting
suspension, revocation, or cancellation of
driving privileges

= Indication of whether the violation happened in a
CMV
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= Location of offense and
= Driver’s signature
Disqualifying Offenses

No employer shall knowingly allow, require, permit, or

controlled substance is disqualified for life and is not
eligible for reinstatement pursuant to 383.51(a)(6).

Suspensions for Traffic Violations

authorize a disqualified driver to drive a CMV. Disqual- A 60-day, 120-day, 1 year, 3 year and life suspension

ifying offenses include:

= Driving a CMV while under the influence of
alcohol *

= Driving a CMV while under the influence of a

disqualifying drug or other controlled substance*

» Having an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or greater

while operating a CMV

= Having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or greater

while operating any motor vehicle*

= Refusing to take an alcohol test as required by a

State or jurisdiction under its implied consent laws

or regulations as defined in 383.72*

= Leaving the scene of an accident that involves a

CMV*

= Using a CMV to commit a felony*

= Driving a CMV when the driver’s CDL is revoked,

suspended, or canceled, or the driver is disqualified

from operating a CMV*

= Using a CMV to cause a fatality™*

= Using a CMV to commit serious traffic violations*

= Using a CMV to violate an Out-of-Service Order

= Using a CMV to violate the Railroad-Highway

Grade Crossing rule*

* Effective September 30, 2005, CDL license hold-
ers will be subject when driving a non-CMV (personal

vehicle) to the moving violation standards in 383.51, the

same as if they were driving CMV.

Penalties

A driver convicted of a felony offense for using a
CMV for manufacturing, distributing or dispensing a
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will be imposed on certain convictions, depending on
severity, number of convictions and subsequent convic-
tions. For more information on the types of convic-
tions and disqualification time frames, please reference
383.51.

Implied Consent

Any CDL holder is automatically considered to have
consented to alcohol testing by any state or jurisdiction.



Missouri Classification System

Note: Certain types of vehicles such as tankers, pas-
senger, hazardous material haulers and double/triple
trailers, require an endorsement. Please consult the
CDL manual offered at the Department of Revenue
for particulars. Find it at Attp.//dor.mo.gov/forms/
Commerical_Driver License.pdf

Class* Description

A Any combination of vehicles with a Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) of 26,001 or more
pounds provided the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GV WR) of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess
of 10,000 pounds. (Holders of a Class A license may also, with any appropriate endorsements, operate
all vehicles within Class B and C).

Examples include but are not limited to:

jIy gy .
g gy EIN f,.

B Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not
in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR. (Holders of a Class B license may also, with any appropriate
endorsements, operate all vehicles within Class C).

Examples include but are not limited to:

v ay oy aff S0
95 il [uluigihmip) spuiiiigpal

C Any single vehicle less than 26,001 pounds GVWR or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of
10,000 pounds GVWR. This group applies only to vehicles, which are required to be placarded for hazard-
ous materials or are designed to transport 16 or more persons, including the operator. A holder of a Class
A, B, or C license may drive all vehicles which may be driven by a holder of a Class E or Class F license.

Examples include but are not limited to:

vikpap £ oikp Ian
e S

*The representative vehicle for the skills test must
meet the written description for that group. The ex-
amples represent, but do not fully cover, the types of
vehicles falling within each group.
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Endorsements

In addition to general knowledge and skills tests,
drivers who operate specialized commercial motor
vehicles must pass additional tests and obtain endorse-
ments on their CDL, as follows:

T — Double/triple trailers (knowledge test only)

P — Passenger (knowledge and skills tests)

N — Tank vehicle (knowledge test only)

S — School Bus (knowledge and skills tests)*

H — Hazardous materials (knowledge test only)**

X — Combination of tank vehicle and hazardous
materials (knowledge tests)

*Effective September 2005, “S” will not suffice for
“P” Endorsement.

**[f you seek to obtain, renew, or transfer an HME

on your CDL, you must apply for a security threat as-
sessment. TSA rules require you to begin applying for
the security threat assessment at least 30 days prior

to the expiration of your CDL. Web address: www.
hazprints.com Telephone: (877)429-7746.

Air Brake Restrictions

If an applicant fails the air brake section of the knowl-
edge test, or performs the skills test in a vehicle not
equipped with air brakes, his/her CDL, if issued, will
indicate that the license holder may not operate any
CMYV equipped with air brakes.

Note: For the purposes of the skills test and the
license restriction, air brakes include any braking
system that operates fully or partially on the air brake
principle.

For-Hire License (Class E) -- Eligible
Age 18
Missouri Intrastate Only

You must have a Class E license if you receive pay
for driving a motor vehicle transporting 14 or fewer
passengers, or if you will transport property for pay
or as part of your employment. Anyone who regularly
operates a motor vehicle for his or her employment,
whether owned by that person or belonging to another
person and designed to carry freight, merchandise or
is operated in furtherance of that business or com-
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mercial enterprise, must also have a Class E license.
(Example: If the person is a delivery driver, whether
the car is owned by the driver or the company, that
person must have a Class E license or greater.) The
vehicle driven must be 26,000 pounds or less gross
vehicle weight rating (GVWR) and not required to
be placarded for hazardous materials. You must be at
least 18 years old and pass the driver’s exam to get a
Class E license. (RSMo 302.015)

*Note: If a Commercial Driver License (CDL) is not
required, you may be subject to the Missouri Class E
driver’s license requirement as an operator of a farm
truck.

Missouri Intrastate Only
“K” Restriction

A driver obtaining or renewing a CDL license may
have a “K” restriction placed on their license, which
designates “Intrastate Driving Only”. This “K” re-
striction applies to drivers of:

= Vehicles licensed for 60,000 pounds or less and
are used exclusively to transport solid waste (In
trastate only);

= Vehicles licensed for 42,000 pounds or less and
the license plate has been designated for farm
use by the letter F (Intrastate only), unless such
vehicle is transporting hazardous materials;

= Persons having a valid Missouri Chauffeur’s Li-
cense on May 13, 1988 are not subject to the medi-
cal requirements of Section 391.41 (In intrastate
commerce only)

= Persons 18 to 20 years old. A driver who is at
least 18 years of age, but not yet 21 years of
age, if otherwise qualified and licensed to
operate a commercial motor vehicle transporting
passengers or property, may do so, only in intra-
state commerce, except hazardous materials. (Any
person transporting hazardous material must be
at least 21 years old). This subsection exempts
these drivers only from the 21 year minimum age
required by 49 CFR 391.11(b)(1), but not from any
physical qualification required by 49 CFR 391.41.

In addition, MoDOT may authorize a person who

is physically unqualified to drive a commercial

motor vehicle to operate commercial motor
vehicles in Missouri intrastate commerce only. Mo-



DOT grants individual medical exemptions by issu-
ing a Skill Performance Evaluation (SPE) Certificate,
to successful applicants, whether they are physically
unqualified because of limb amputation, limb im-
pairment, insulin-treated diabetes mellitus, or vision
impairment.

Guidance: Missouri Commercial
Driver’s License and Medical
Certification

Federal law says states must store DOT medical
certification status in commercial driver’s license
computer systems. One step of the process requires
Missouri CDL holders to self-certify with the Missouri
Department of Revenue which of four types of CDL
best describes the driver’s situation.

Visit www.modot.org/mcs/CDLMed or use the
information below to make a choice.

The four choices are:

Non-excepted Interstate (NI) - the most common —
Drivers who are required to follow federal medical
certification requirements (DOT card).

Non-excepted Intrastate (NA) — Drivers operating
wholly within Missouri who must meet the federal
DOT medical card requirements.

Excepted Interstate (EI)— Drivers who are not
required to comply with Federal medical card rules
due to a federal exception from medical requirements.

Excepted Intrastate (EA) — Drivers operating wholly
within Missouri who do not have to meet the Federal
medical card requirements due to a Missouri state
exception.

Interstate or Intrastate

If you ever operate a CMV in a state other than
Missouri or haul a load that began or will end up in
another state or country, certify as an interstate driver.
If you operate only in Missouri, hauling loads that

originate and end completely within the state, you’re
an intrastate driver.

Interstate excepted or non-excepted

You operate in excepted interstate commerce when
you drive a CMV in interstate commerce only for
certain activities, the most common of which are:

= To transport school children and/
or school staff between home and
school.

= As federal, state or local
government employees.

s Fire truck or rescue vehicle
drivers during emergencies and
other activities.

= Atruck that is controlled and
operated not-for-hire by a farmer,
when specific conditions apply.

= You hold a CDL but do not
operate a commercial motor vehicle.

If any of the above activities are the only operation in
which you drive, you operate in excepted interstate
commerce and do not need a federal medical
examiner’s certificate. Most other drivers operate in
non-excepted interstate commerce and must provide a
current medical examiner’s certificate to DOR. If both
apply, choose non-excepted interstate.

Intrastate Excepted or Non-Excepted

You operate in excepted intrastate commerce if you
drive a CMV only in intrastate commerce activities
that do not require you to have a medical examination
due to a Missouri state exception. All other intrastate
drivers operate in non-excepted intrastate commerce.

If you held a Chauffeur’s license prior to May 13,
1988 and have a “K” restriction printed on your CDL,
you are exempt from the need to have a DOT medical
card and should certify as being excepted intrastate
(EA).
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Part 387

Minimum Levels of Financial Responsibility for Motor Carriers

(Interstate and Intrastate Commerce)

Financial responsibility means having insurance poli-
cies or surety bonds sufficient to satisfy the minimum
public liability requirements. Public liability means
liability for bodily injury, property damage, and
environmental restoration. Environmental restoration
means restitution for the loss, damage, or destruc-
tion of natural resources arising out of an accidental
discharge of toxic or other environmentally harmful
materials or liquids.

Requirements for Financial
Responsibility

Motor carriers of property operating commercial mo-
tor vehicles in interstate, foreign, or intrastate com-
merce, and for-hire carriers of passengers operating in
interstate or foreign commerce must have at least the
minimum amount of insurance required by law.

(See the Schedule of Limits in this folder for mini-
mum levels of financial responsibility).

Proof

The motor carrier must have proof of the minimum
level of insurance at the company’s principal place of
business.

Proof may be shown by any of the following:

= Endorsements for Motor Carriers policies of insur-
ance for public liability under Sections 29 and 30
of the Motor Carrier Act of 1980 (Form MCS-90)
issued by an insurer

= Endorsements for Motor Carriers of Passengers
policies of insurance for public liability under
Section 18 of the Bus Regulatory Reform Act of
1982 (Form MCS-90B) issued by an insurer

= A Motor Carrier Surety Bond for public liability
under Section 30 of the Motor Carrier Act of 1980
(Form MCS-82) issued by a surety

A Motor Carriers of Passengers Surety Bond for
public liability under Section 18 of the Bus Regu-
latory Reform Act of 1982 (Form MCS-82B) is
sued by a surety

A written decision, order, or authorization of the
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
authorizing the motor carrier to self-insure under
49 CFR 1043.5
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ENDORSEMENT FOR
MOTOR CARRIER POLICIES OF INSURANCE FOR PUBLIC LIABILITY
UNDER SECTIONS 29 AND 30 OF THE MOTOR CARRIER ACT OF 1980

Issued to of

Dated at this day of , 20

Amending Policy No. Effective Date

Name of Insurance Company

Countersigned by

Authorized Company Representative
The policy to which this endorsement is attached provides primary or excess insurance, as indicated by “[X],” for the limits shown:

[ 1 This insurance is primary and the company shall not be liable for amounts in excess of $$ for each accident.

[ 1 This insurance is excess and the company shall not be liable for amounts in excess of $$ for each accident in

excess of the underlying limit of $ for each accident.

Whenever required by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), the company agrees to furnish the FMCSA a duplicate of
said policy and all its endorsements. The company also agrees, upon telephone request by an authorized representative of the FMCSA, to
verify that the policy is in force as of a particular date. The telephone number to call is:

Cancellation of this endorsement may be effected by the company of the insured by giving (1) thirty-five (35) days notice in writing to the
other party (said 35 days notice to commence from the date the notice is mailed, proof of mailing shall be sufficient proof of notice), and (2) if
the insured is subject to the FMCSA ’s registration requirements under 49 U.S.C.13901, by providing thirty (30) days notice to the FMCSA
(said 30 days notice to commence from the date the notice is received by the FMCSA at its office in Washington, D.C.).

DEFINITIONS AS USED IN THIS ENDORSEMENT

Accident includes continuous or repeated exposure to
conditions or which results in bodily injury, property damage, or
environmental damage, which the insured neither expected nor
intended.

Motor Vehicle means a land vehicle, machine, truck, tractor,
trailer, or semi-trailer propelled or drawn by mechanical power
and used on a highway for transporting property, or any
combination thereof.

Bodily Injury means injury to the body, sickness, or disease to
any person, including death resulting from any of these.

Property Damage means damage to or loss of use of tangible
property.

Environmental Restoration means restitution for the loss,
damage, or destruction of natural resources arising out of the
accidental discharge, dispersal, release or escape into or upon
the and, atmosphere, watercourse, or body of water, of any
commodity transported by a motor carrier. This shall include the
cost of removal and the cost of necessary measures taken to
minimize or mitigate damage to human health, the natural
environment, fish, shellfish, and wildlife.

Public Liability means liability for bodily injury, property
damage, and environmental restoration

The insurance policy to which this endorsement is attached
provides automobile liability insurance and is amended to assure
compliance by the insured, within the limits stated herein, as a
motor carrier of property, with Sections 29 and 30 of the Motor
Carrier Act of 1980 and the rules and regulations of the Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA).

In consideration of the premium stated in the policy to which this
endorsement is attached, the insurer (the company) agrees to
pay, within the limits of liability described herein, any final
judgment recovered against the insured for public liability
resulting from negligence in the operation, maintenance or use of
motor vehicles subject to the financial responsibility requirements
of Sections 29 and 30 of the Motor Carrier Act of 1980
regardless of whether or not each motor vehicle is specifically
described in the policy and whether or not such negligence
occurs on any route or in any territory authorized to be served by
the insured or elsewhere. Such insurance as is afforded, for
public liability, does not apply to injury to or death of the
insured's employees while engaged in the course of their
employment, or property transported by the insured, designated
as cargo. It is understood and agreed that no condition,
provision, stipulation, or limitation contained in the policy, this
endorsement, or any other endorsement thereon, or violation
thereof, shall relieve the company from liability or from the

payment of any final judgment, within the limits of liability herein
described, irrespective of the financial condition, insolvency or
bankruptcy of the insured. However, all terms, conditions, and
limitations in the policy to which the endorsement is attached
shall remain in full force and effect as binding between the
insured and the company. The insured agrees to reimburse the
company for any payment made by the company on account of
any accident, claim, or suit involving a breach of the terms of the
policy, and for any payment that the company would not have
been obligated to make under the provisions of the policy except
for the agreement contained in this endorsement.

It is further understood and agreed that, upon failure of the
company to pay any final judgment recovered against the
insured as provided herein, the judgment creditor may maintain
an action in any court of competent jurisdiction against the
company to compel such payment.

The limits of the company's liability for the amounts prescribed in
this endorsement apply separately to each accident and any
payment under the policy because of any one accident shall not
operate to reduce the liability of the company for the payment of
final judgments resulting from any other accident.

THE SCHEDULE OF LIMITS SHOWN ON THE REVERSE SIDE DOES NOT PROVIDE COVERAGE. The limits shown in the schedule are for information purposes only.

Form MCS-90 (4/2000)
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Schedule of Limits - Public Liability

Type of carriage Commodity transported Jan. 1, 1985
(1)For-hire (In interstate or foreign commerce, with a Property (nonhazardous)............cccceeerveeveninienenens $750,000
gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 or more
pounds).
(2)For-hire and Private (In interstate, foreign, or Hazardous substances, as defined in 49 CFR $5,000,000
intrastate commerce, with a gross vehicle weight 171.8,transported in cargo tanks, portable tanks,
rating of 10,000 or more pounds). or hopper-type vehicles with capacities in excess
of 3,500 water gallons; or in bulk Division 1.1,1.2,
and 1.3 materials, Division 2.3,Hazard Zone A, or
Division 6.1,Packing Group |, Hazard Zone A
material; in bulk Division 2.1 or 2.2;0r highway
route controlled quantities of a Class 7 material, as
defined in 49 CFR 173.403
(3)For-hire and Private (In interstate or foreign Oil listed in 49 CFR 172.101;hazardous waste, $1,000,000
commerce, in any quantity; or in intrastate commerce, hazardous materials, and hazardous substances
in bulk only; with a gross vehicle weight rating of defined in 49 CFR 171.8 and listed in 49 CFR
10,000 or more pounds). * (See Note) 172.101,but not mentioned in (2)above or (4)
below.
(4)For-hire and Private (In interstate or foreign Any quantity of Division 1.1,1.2,or 1.3 material; $5,000,000
commerce,with a gross vehicle weight rating of less any quantity of a Division 2.3,Hazard Zone A,or
than 10,000 pounds). Division 6.1,Packing Group I,Hazard Zone A
material; or highway route controlled quantities of a
Class 7 material as defined in 49 CFR 173.403.
(5) For-hire motor carriers of passengers operating in Any vehicle with a seating capacity of 16 passengers or $5,000,000
interstate or foreign commerce more.
Any Yehicle with a seating capacity of 15 passengers or $1,500,000
less.

DEFINITION:

In bulk — the transportation, as cargo, of property, except Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 materials, and division 2.3, Hazard Zone A gases, in containment
systems with capacities in excess of 3,500 water gallons.

In bulk (Division 1.1, 1.2, and 1.3 explosives) — the transportation, as cargo, of any Division 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 materials in any quantity.

In bulk (Division 2.3, Hazard Zone A or division 6.1, Packing Group |, Hazard Zone A materials) — the transportation, as cargo, of any Division 2.3,
Hazard Zone A, or Division 6.1, Packing Group |, Hazard Zone A material, in any quantity.

Note: Unless hauling bulk hazardous material, this applies to For-hire and Private (In interstate or foreign commerce); or For-hire intrastate

commerce, and does not apply to Private intrastate commerce.

. Tow trucks with a GVWR or GCWR of 10,000 pounds or more performing emergency moves in interstate or foreign commerce are required to
maintain minimum levels of financial responsibility in the amount of $750,000. Tow trucks performing secondary moves are required to maintain
levels of coverage applicable to the commodity being transported by the vehicle being towed.

. Vehicles being transported by motor vehicle are subject only to 49 CFR 173.220 of the HMRs, they meet the definition of "Hazardous material" in
49 CFR 171.8 because "Vehicle, flammable gas powered" and "Vehicle, flammable liquid powered" (this includes diesel fuel) are designated as
hazardous in 49 CFR 172.101 [UN 3166]. For that reason, vehicles transporting other vehicles would have to carry $1,000,000 of public liability
insurance.

o Examples may include, but are not limited to: backhoe, motorcycles, self-propelled lawn mowers, tractors, bobcats, auto-haulers, etc.

'Except as provided in 387.27(b).
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Filing Proof Of Insurance

Bodily Injury and Property Damage
Liability (BIPD)

Proof of BIPD insurance must be on file with Motor
Carrier Services Division before the motor carrier can
transport property or passengers within the borders
of this state, unless exempted under RSMo 390.030.
The insurance form that must be on file is one of the
following:

Intrastate Operations

1. Form E, Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury
and Property Damage Liability Certificate
of Insurance (intrastate household goods carriers
must also file a Form H, Uniform Motor Carrier
Cargo Certificate of Insurance):

2. Form G, Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury
and Property Damage Surety Bond; or

3. An application to self-insure on the prescribed
application form.

The minimum levels of BIPD liability insurance are
listed below:

4. Intrastate-Passenger Service

Twelve (12) passenger or less capacity, $100,000 for
injury or death of one (1) person; $300,000 for any
(1) accident; $50,000 property damage for any one (1)
accident.

More than twelve (12) passenger capacity, $100,000
for injury or death of one (1) person; $500,000 for any
one (1) accident; $50,000 property damage for any one
(1) accident.

5. Intrastate Property-Nonhazardous

$100,000 for injury or death of one (1) person;
$300,000 for any one (1) accident; $50,000 property
damage for any one (1) accident.

40

6. Intrastate Property-Hazardous
$5,000,000*

Hazardous substance, as defined in 49 CFR 171.8
transported in cargo tanks or hopper-type vehicles
with capacities in excess of 3,500 water gallons; any
quantity of Class 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 explosives; any quan-
tity of Class 2.3 Hazard Zone A; any quantity of Class
6.1, Packing Group I, Hazard Zone A; Class 7 radio-
active materials in highway route controlled quantities
as defined in 49 CFR 173.455; and Class 2.1 and 2.2
gases in tanks with capacities in excess of 3,500 water
gallons.

7. Intrastate Property-Hazardous
$1,000,000*

Oil listed in 49 CFR 172.101; hazardous waste, haz-
ardous materials and hazardous substances defined
in 49 CFR 171.8 and listed in 49 CFR 171.101, but not
mentioned in 4 or 6.

Cargo Insurance (Intrastate Household
Goods Operations Only)

Proof of cargo insurance must be on file to transport
household goods within the borders of this state. The
insurance form must be one of the following:

1. Form H, Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo Certificate
of Insurance; or

2. Form J, Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo Surety
Bond.

The minimum level of cargo insurance is as follows:

Loss of damage to property carried on any one (1) mo-
tor vehicle - $2,500; and

Loss or damage to or aggregate of losses or damages
of or to property occurring at any one (1) time and
place - $5,000.

*This limit applies only to vehicles within a gross vehicle weight
rating of 10,000 Ibs or more.



Financial Responsibility for Missouri
Oversize Overweight Permit

An applicant must submit proof of insurance meeting
the required minimum amount before a permit can be
issued. The applicant must have on file with the Mis-
souri Department of Transportation, Motor Carrier
Services Division an approved certificate of liability
insurance specifically showing coverage of amounts
not less than the following:

Schedule of Minimum Limits of Combined Single
Limit Automobile Liability:

Type of Move Amount

1) Routine $750,000
2) Super Heavy and Large Loads $2,000,000
3) Noncommercial Building $2,000,000

(House) Movement

Insurance for all permit operation shall be in force for
the duration of the permit period. Travel under permit
must be with properly licensed, insured and permitted
vehicles and must be licensed for maximum weights
in order to obtain overweight permits. For specific in-
formation relating to these regulations, please review
the Missouri Revised Statutes, Chapters 260, 301
through 307, 390 and 622.

If there are any questions concerning these require-
ments, please contact the Motor Carrier Services
Division, Compliance Communication Center at (573)
751-7100 or (800) 877-8499.
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Federal Motor
Carrier Safety
Regulations

General Applicability
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Part 390

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations: General

General Applicability

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs)
apply to all employers, employees, and commercial
motor vehicles transporting property or passengers in
interstate commerce.

Commercial Motor Vehicle in “INTERSTATE COM-
MERCE”: Any self-propelled or towed motor vehicle
used on a highway in interstate commerce to transport
passengers or property when the vehicle:

= Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combi-
nation weight rating, or gross vehicle weight or
gross combination weight of 4,536 kg (10,001
pounds) or more, or

= [s designed or used to transport 9 or more passen-
gers, including the driver, or

= Is used in transporting a quantity of hazardous
material requiring placarding

Commercial Motor Vehicle in “INTRASTATE COM-
MERCE”: Any self-propelled or towed motor vehicle
used on a highway in intrastate commerce to transport
passengers or property when the vehicle:

= Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combi-
nation weight rating, or gross vehicle weight
or gross combination weight of 11,794 kg (26,001
pounds) or more, or

= Is designed or used to transport 9 or more passen-
gers, including the driver, or

= [sused in transporting a quantity of hazardous
material requiring placarding

= Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combi-
nation weight rating, or gross vehicle weight or
gross combination weight of 4,536 kg (10,001
pounds) or more and is used in transporting any
amount of hazardous material

= Is used in transporting a quantity of hazardous
material requiring placarding

Interstate-Only Exemptions

Vehicles and drivers used in transportation by a
Covered Farm Vehicle as defined on page 29 of this
manual are excepted from the following require-
ments of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
(FMCSRs):

» Part 382 Alcohol and Drug Testing Requirements
* Part 383 Commercial Driver’s License Standards
» Part 391 Qualification of Drivers (Medical Certifi-
cation Only)

» Part 395 Hours of Service of Drivers

» Part 396 Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance

Intrastate-Only Exemptions

= Vehicles with less than 26,001 pounds Gross
Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) or Gross Combi-
nation Weight Rating (GCWR) and not transport-
ing any amount of hazardous material

= Vehicles licensed for 60,000 pounds or less when
used exclusively for the transport of solid waste

= Vehicles licensed for less than 42,000 pounds and
the license plate is designated for farm use.

= Persons having a valid Missouri Chauffeur’s Li-
cense on or before May 13, 1988, are not subject to
the medical requirements of Section 391.41

Vehicles and drivers used in transportation by a
Covered Farm Vehicle as defined on page 29 of this
manual are excepted from the following require-
ments of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
(FMCSRs):

* Part 382 Alcohol and Drug Testing Requirements
» Part 383 Commercial Driver’s License Standards
» Part 391 Qualification of Drivers (Medical Certifi-
cation Only)

» Part 395 Hours of Service of Drivers

» Part 396 Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance

Exceptions to General Applicability

Transportation provided by federal, state, and local
governments are exempt from Part 390-397; however,
must comply with Part 40, Part 382 (Drug and Alco-
hol) and Part 383 (CDL) requirements of the FMCSRs.
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Occasional transportation of personal property by
individuals for non-commercial purposes, school bus
operations, and transportation of human corpses, or
sick and injured people are also exempt.

Accident Register

Accident: An incident involving a CMV operating on
a public road resulting in at least one of the following:

= A fatality

= Bodily injury to a person who, as a result of the
injury, immediately receives medical treatment
away from the scene of the accident

= Disabling damage to one or more motor vehicles,
requiring the vehicle(s) to be towed or otherwise
transported from the scene by a tow truck or other
vehicle

Accident Register: A motor carrier must maintain an
accident register for three years after the date of each
accident, containing the following information:

A list of accidents as defined in 390.5, containing for
each accident:

= Date and place of accident

= Driver’s name

= Number of injuries and fatalities

» Hazardous materials (other than fuel) released
Copies of all accident reports required by state or
other governmental entities or insurers

Vehicle Identification (Markings)

Every CMV operated by a motor carrier in interstate
commerce must be marked, on both sides of the ve-
hicle, with the following:

= The motor carrier’s legal name or trade name

= The motor carrier’s identification number preced-
ed by USDOT

= [f the name of any person other than the operat-
ing carrier appears on the CMV, the name
of the operating carrier must be followed by the
same information as above, and preceded by the
words “operated by”

s Other identifying information may be displayed
if not inconsistent with the above Size, shape,
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location, and color. The marking must:

= Appear on both sides

= Contrast sharply in color with the background

= Be legible, during daylight hours, from a distance
of 50 feet while the CMV is stationary

= Be maintained in a manner that retains legibility

Construction and durability:

s The marking may be painted on the CMV or may
consist of a removable device that meets the above
requirements

Every CMV operated by a motor carrier only in
intrastate commerce must be marked, on BOTH sides
of the vehicle, with the same information as provided
above except that:

= The motor carrier ID number preceded by “US
DOT?”, then the letters “MO” shall be included in
the vehicle markings