| |
Missouri Department of Transportation

Social Media Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram YouTube RSS

MoDOT News Release 

For more information contact Carrie Wolken at 573-751-5420 or 1-800-800-BELT (2358) or Revee White at 573-751-5414.

March 17, 2009 12:00 AM
Governorís Office Honors Team Spirit Youth

JEFFERSON CITY - Gov. Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon's Office recognized youth leadership teams from around the state for their contributions to promoting safe habits among youth in their communities March 17 on the front steps of the Missouri State Capitol.

A special proclamation was awarded to 11 Missouri high schools. Mayme Young Miller, director of constituent services with the governor's office, presented the proclamation. The youth teams were in Jefferson City March 16-17 for a Team Spirit Reunion. The two-day reunion included workshops and presentations about traffic safety.

     Team Spirit is a statewide program sponsored by the Missouri Department of Transportation Highway Safety Division committed to empowering youth to take an active role in preventing alcohol and other drug use and the impaired driving that accompanies such use. It also encourages safety belt use reminding youth to buckle up every trip, every time.

After an initial training session, Team Spirit youth create and implement action plans for alcohol and drug-free activities in an effort to reduce substance use and related traffic crashes that can result. The two-day reunion provides the teams the opportunity to share ideas with other teams and gain knowledge.

 "More than 430 young people (ages 14-19) died in traffic crashes in Missouri over the last three years," said Leanna Depue, director of MoDOT Highway Safety Division. "Team Spirit gives students the skills to impact their peers in a very positive way."

Team Spirit is available to all schools in Missouri. For more information about how your school can become involved in this program call 1-800-800-BELT (2358).


EDITOR'S NOTE - The following high schools will receive a proclamation at the ceremony on March 17:  Fair Grove High School, Farmington High School, Blair Oaks High School, Malden High School, Naylor High School, Northeast Vernon County High School, Marion County R-II High School, Brunswick High School, Lutie High School, Camdenton High School, Central High School.

About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Driver's License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
RSS FeedYoutubeBlogFlickrTwitter Facebook