| |
Missouri Department of Transportation

Social Media Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram YouTube RSS

MoDOT News Release 

For more information, contact Community Relations, (573) 751-2840.

July 08, 2009 12:00 AM
Mike Kehoe Resigns from Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission
Praises MoDOT for Dramatic Improvement

SPRINGFIELD, MO - Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission Chairman Mike Kehoe announced his resignation at the commission's meeting in Springfield today.  The resignation took effect immediately.

"I was appointed to the commission in the spring of 2005.  During that time, I have witnessed a rebirth at the Missouri Department of Transportation," Kehoe said.  "The department has delivered on its promises to the people of Missouri often times under budget and ahead of schedule.  I am honored to have served with great commissioners and with the outstanding employees at MoDOT.  It is, however, time for a new chapter in my life."

The commission is the governing board that oversees MoDOT.  MoDOT Director Pete Rahn praised Kehoe's service.

"Mike Kehoe has been a great leader and champion for transportation in Missouri.  He has demonstrated his commitment to making our system better for everyone who uses it," Rahn said.  "It has been my privilege to work with him so closely.  He is a gentleman and we will miss his leadership on the commission." 

Governor Jay Nixon will appoint a new commissioner.  Kehoe, who owns a car dealership in Jefferson City, said he had notified the governor of his resignation in a letter.

"I notified Governor Nixon of my decision, but I also took the opportunity to highlight the great accomplishments I have observed during my time on the commission," Kehoe said.  "The bottom line is that MoDOT is spending taxpayer money responsibly on transportation improvements that are saving lives, supporting jobs and making travel better for all Missourians.  They are meeting their commitments to the people of Missouri and then some."

Kehoe's resignation means that MHTC Vice-Chairman David Gach of St. Joseph will be elected chairman and Rudy Farber of Neosho will be elected vice-chairman.  Other members of the commission are Duane Michie of Caruthersville, Grace Nichols of St. Charles and Joe Carmichael of Springfield.

The commission is made up of three Democrats and three Republicans.  Commissioners are appointed to six-year terms that are staggered so that no more than two leave the panel in a given year. 



About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Driver's License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
RSS FeedYoutubeBlogFlickrTwitter Facebook