| |
Southeast District Facebook Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube RSS

Local News Releases

For more information, contact MoDOTís Customer Service Center toll-free at 1-888-ASK-MODOT (1-888-275-6636).

August 04, 2009 12:00 AM
Groundbreaking Ceremony for I-55 Welcome Centers near Hayti and Marston

SIKESTON-A groundbreaking ceremony will be held Friday, Aug. 7, at 10 a.m. to kick-off the construction of two welcome centers in District 10. One ceremony will be held to celebrate the construction of both welcome centers.

The public is invited to attend the event. The ceremony will be held near the Hayti Welcome Center construction site, located on northbound I-55 near Mile Marker 20.4 (the ceremony site will be accessible from the outer road). In case of inclement weather, the ceremony will be held at the MoDOT maintenance shed in Hayti, 492 MO State Outer Road.

 Anticipated speakers include-

·         Tom Schulte on behalf of U.S. Senator Kit Bond

·         State Representative Terry Swinger, District 162

·         Duane Michie, Missouri Highway Commissioner

·         Bob Smith, Missouri Division of Tourism Interim Director

·         Steve Duke, Bootheel Regional Planning Commission Executive Director

·         Clyde Hawes, New Madrid County Presiding Commissioner

·         Jim Atchison, Pemiscot County Presiding Commissioner

·         MoDOT Southeast District Engineer Mark Shelton

One of the two new welcome centers will be located on northbound I-55, just north of Hayti; the other welcome center will replace the southbound rest area near Marston. The existing outdated welcome center on the northbound lanes near Marston will be eliminated and converted to a truck parking facility, with a new welcome center added on the southbound lanes at Marston.

Constructing these two facilities will include grading, paving, drainage work, lighting, landscaping and signing. Both new welcome centers will feature restroom facilities, picnic areas, a playground, benches and walking trails as well as site-specific details, highlighting the rich history of Southeast Missouri. 

The Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission awarded the contract on July 8 for improvements to Interstate 55 welcome centers in New Madrid and Pemiscot Counties. The $11,629,285 contract was awarded to R.L. Persons Construction Inc., Poplar Bluff, Mo. Federally provided enhancement funds, monies made available for non-roadway type projects that still contribute to overall improvement of our transportation system, are being used for this project. If weather permits, work on the welcome centers is expected to begin on Aug. 10. 

During construction, outer road traffic will be impacted at the new Hayti welcome center as the new outer road is constructed to meet the existing outer road. Other minimal impacts will occur as on and off ramps are constructed at both centers. Construction of both welcome centers is expected to be complete by November 2010. 

For more information about the Marston or Hayti welcome centers, please contact Project Manager Tim Richmond at (573) 472-5290 or District Design Engineer Barry Horst at (573) 472-5289, respectively, Resident Engineer Brian Holt at (573) 472-5325 or MoDOT's Customer Service Center toll-free at 1-888-ASK-MODOT (1-888-275-6636). 


District Map
Southeast District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Your Local Area Engineer
Report a Road Concern
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map
Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Wright Douglas Ozark Texas Howell Shannon Oregon Reynolds Carter Ripley Iron Dunklin Pemiscot New Madrid Butler St. Francois Ste. Genevieve Perry Madison Wayne Stoddard Scott Mississippi Bollinger Cape Girardeau Northwest Kansas City Southwest Southeast Central St. Louis Northeast IPhone Android