| |
Southeast District Facebook Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube RSS

Local News Releases

For more information, please contact Keith Roberts with IDOT at 618-351-5250

April 14, 2017 08:21 AM
LANE CLOSURES ON I-57 Southbound
Williamson County Illinois

The Illinois Department of Transportation would like to alert motorists of upcoming lane closures on I-57 in Williamson County.

Beginning at 7 a.m. Tuesday, April 18, 2017, southbound I-57 will be reduced to one lane, just north of IL 148 to the Johnson County line (milepost 46-43). In addition, the IL 148 southbound off ramp will be closed on Tuesday, April 18, 2017, and will be reopened on Saturday, April 22, 2017, weather permitting. These closures are necessary to facilitate rehabilitation of the roadway.

Due to the high volume of traffic on this section of roadway, major delays can be expected daily between the hours of 7 a.m. and 8 p.m. Motorists should also be aware that incidents causing delays can occur at any time.

This work will consist of removing the existing surface, fracturing (rubblizing) the existing concrete pavement to create the new base and placing new hot mix asphalt pavement and shoulders. Work is expected to last through late May, with all lanes open for the Memorial Day holiday weekend.

A smart traffic control system will convey real-time traffic delay information to message boards located in advance of the work zone along I-57 and approaches to the interstate. Motorists are urged to pay attention to these messages and seek alternate routes when directed. Local traffic is encouraged to utilize other state routes to avoid this section of roadway if possible. IL 37, paralleling I-57 to the east, has been marked as a detour route for through traffic.

For IDOT District 9 updates on twitter, follow us at https://twitter.com/IDOTDistrict9.


District Map
Southeast District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Your Local Area Engineer
Report a Road Concern
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map
Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Wright Douglas Ozark Texas Howell Shannon Oregon Reynolds Carter Ripley Iron Dunklin Pemiscot New Madrid Butler St. Francois Ste. Genevieve Perry Madison Wayne Stoddard Scott Mississippi Bollinger Cape Girardeau Northwest Kansas City Southwest Southeast Central St. Louis Northeast IPhone Android